top of page

DECEMBER 23rd 1972 - JANUARY 9th 1973


  • David Bowie: Vocals, Guitar

  • Mick Ronson: Guitar

  • Trevor Bolder: Bass

  • Mick Woodmansey: Drums

  • Mike Garson: Piano

Repertoire included:

Let's Spend The Night Together | Hang On To Yourself | Ziggy Stardust | Changes | The Supermen | Life On Mars? |  Five Years | The Width Of A Circle | John, I'm Only Dancing | Moonage Daydream | The Jean Genie | Suffragette City | Rock'n'Roll Suicide | Waiting For The Man | Starman

Bowie followed his first American tour with a short series of Christmas and New Year concerts in England and Scotland, beginning with two nights at the Rainbow Theatre supported by Gerry Rafferty's band Stealers Wheel. The audiences were asked to bring children's toys to the Rainbow shows, to be distributed through Dr Barnardo's homes on Christmas Day ("I think we filled an entire truck with them," David recalled). With the Aladdin Sane sessions and a Top Of The Pops performance of "The Jean Genie" being fitted around the ensuing January dates, the tour's major innovation was the introduction of The Rolling Stones' "Let's Spend The Night Together" as the opening number. David later described this phase of the Ziggy tour as "probably one of the best, highest energy jaunts of our short eighteen-month life."

The Complete David Bowie by Nicholas Pegg

The Complete David Bowie

by Nicholas Pegg

New Edition: Expanded and Updated

"This is the best Bowie reference book one could ever hope for"

Tony Visconti

David Bowie & Mick Ronson 1972
bottom of page